The Step-By Step Process of How to Close Your Shopify Store

How to Remove “Powered by Shopify” from Your Store

All good things come to an end, including our Shopify stores. Whether you’re moving to a new platform, or close the chapter on your eCommerce journey, here’s how to close your Shopify store.

If you’re not 100% sure you’re ready for this step, you can put a temporary Pause on your store. To be eligible for a Pause, you need to be on a paid plan that’s at least 60 days past the end of your free trial.

Alternatively, you can also sell your store to another entrepreneur via Exchange Marketplace.

But let’s assume you’ve reached the decision to close your Shopify Store.

Before you start the process:

  • If you’re using any third-party apps in your store, make sure you cancel those services first.
  • If you sell gift cards, make sure all outstanding balances are resolved.
  • Remember that you retain ownership of any custom domain names. If you want to transfer them to another provider, make sure you do that before closing your store. And turn off auto-renew payments for any domains.

On Desktop

Log into your Shopify admin.

Click ‘Settings’ at the bottom of the left menu.

Click ‘Plan and permissions’ on the right.

In the ‘Store status’ section, click ‘Close store.”

Enter your password if prompted.

If you’re sure you’re ready to go ahead, select your reason for closing in the drop-down menu, then click ‘Close store.’

On Mobile:

Open the Shopify app and make sure you’re logged in.

Tap on ‘Store’ in the bottom right corner.

Then tap on ‘Settings.’

Under ‘Store settings,’ find and click on ‘Plan and permissions.’

In the ‘Store status’ section, click on ‘Close store.’

Enter your password if prompted.

If you’re sure you’re ready to go ahead with closing, select your reason in the drop-down menu, then click ‘Close store.’ And you have now closed your Shopify Store.

Within 90 days of closing, Shopify guarantees all your store’s data is still available if your change your mind. But you’ll have to log in again and re-enter your credit card details to reactivate your account.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.